Miss N Me – The Directors!

You’ve learned about the amazing cast of Miss N Me and now it’s time for our directing duo to take the spotlight.

Missyrehearsal (1)We are very excited to continue our tradition of mentoring emerging artists – thanks to the Winnipeg Arts Council this year we welcome Angie St. Mars as Assistant Director working in conjunction with our Artistic Director Hope McIntyre. Although rehearsals just began, Hope has been talking shop about the script with playwright Catherine Banks for over a year.

Hope McIntyre

What is your favourite play? It’s always the play that I am currently immersed in, so definitely Miss N Me. I’m also a big fan of Catherine’s play Bone Cage and of course an all-time favourite is Fefu and Her Friends, which I finally got to direct last year.

What job would you most like to do if you weren’t working in theatre? I used to want to be a veterinarian, but now I think I’d want something more stress-free. Would someone hire me to read, paint and play with animals?

What is your favourite thing to do on your day off? Sleep. Bake. Play with animals.

Where would you love to travel? Ireland, particularly the Hebrides from where part of my family hails.

If you had to sing one song on American Idol, what would it be? Definitely something from the ‘80s – Never Surrender by Corey Hart or Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper.

What would you do if you won a million dollars? Put it in to the Sarasvàti endowment fund so that the company will last forever!

If you were on an island and could only bring 3 things, what would they be? A toothbrush, a journal and music!

Angie St. Mars

What is your favourite play? Bahh! Let me pick my top five.
Favourite…
First play I read, and blew my mind: Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf.
First play that made me want to make theatre : Ginny Collins’ The Good Daughter.
New play: Hannah Moscovitch’s This Is War.
Local play: Debbie Patterson’s Sargent & Victor & Me.
I will always love Three Sisters, and I love it more every time I get to see another awesome adaptation. I just read Catherine’s It Is Solved By Walking, so that’s a new favourite.

What job would you most like to do if you weren’t working in theatre? Television (hahaha)

What is your favourite thing to do on your day off? Read and write and see plays. All day every day.

Where would you love to travel? I want to hike the Fundy Trail in New Brunswick. All of Canada’s East coast.

If you had to sing one song on American Idol, what would it be? It would be Shoop by Salt n’ Pepa.

What would you do if you won a million dollars? I would apply to one of the best universities in the U.S. and I’d move there (temporarily, of course)

If you were on an island and could only bring 3 things, what would they be? Electricity, the internet, and my laptop.

Now check out the promo video by the amazing Jordan Popowich –

Miss N Me from Jordan Popowich on Vimeo.

Wow!  Now that you’ve had a sneak peek, you need to get your tickets!

1 Comment

  1. […] incredible, talented cast and crew! Melanie, Alissa, Kevin and Colin, you brought the play to life. Hope and Angie, without your expert direction, who knows where this road trip may have ended up? Ainza, James and […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

