The Super Ladies of Miss N Me!

Last week we shared details about the guys in Miss N Me and now we have answers to our philosophical questions from the fabulous Alissa Watson and Melanie Whyte.  You have likely seen both of them on Winnipeg stages in the past, but how well do you really know them?

 

Alissa Watson

Alissa Watson

Alissa Watson

What is your favourite play? There are so many – I like witty, smart scripts that stay ahead of the audience.  Recently I read “Seminar” by Theresa Rebeck and “Butcher” by Nicolas Billon and really enjoyed them.

What role would you love to play one day? I would LOVE to play the role of an actor for a living; anything on the stage suits me fine!

What is your favourite thing to do on your day off? Sleep in without setting an alarm, hang around the house, have a visit with my friends and make a new recipe for dinner. 

Where would you love to travel? Australia and New Zealand. I’ve also heard incredible things about Costa Rica. 

If you could sing one song on American Idol, what would it be? My go to Karaoke songs are The Beatles’ “Come Together” and Tom Cochrane’s “Life is a Highway” – it would be a toss up!  But it would probably come down to “Mr. Jones” by the Counting Crows. 

What would you do if you won a million dollars? Pay my folks back for my university tuition, buy a little house, donate to an arts organization, sponsor some kids to go to school, put a tiny bit into my TFSA and take my best friend and my partner on a trip around the world. 

If you were on an island and could only bring 3 things, what would they be? Is it tropical or arctic? Is there civilization on this island? I guess I would bring someone who knew how to catch/prepare/cook the local natural cuisine (someone really outdoorsy) and this person also knows how to build me a shelter (if not I will need someone to do that too).  My goose-down jacket would be good if it was a cold island.  I think I know enough to build a fire in the wild so I would also need a pair of sunglasses and a keg filled with an adult beverage to get me through the experience.

Anything else you’d like to add: “I want to be cutting-edge.”  – Missy Elliott

Melanie Whyte

Melanie Whyte

Melanie Whyte

What is your favourite play?  Hmm. August Osage County is a play I was hugely attracted to when I read it.  I didn’t have the opportunity to play in it at MTC, but the production was stellar!

What role would you love to play one day? I want to play Margaret in The Light in the Piazza again.

What is your favourite thing to do on your day off?  Cycle!  With my family.

Where would you love to travel?  England and Ireland (my people). Cuba.  For the music.

If you could sing one song on American Idol, what would it be?  Yikes.  I don’t think that theatre tunes are the deal on that show.  Meadowlark from The Baker’s Wife.

What would you do if you won a million dollars? There is so much work needing doing that I can only hope I would funnel money towards social change somehow.  I would pay off my debts too.

If you were on an island and could only bring 3 things, what would they be? I hope it would be my homeland of Vancouver Island.  I would want my piano I think, having just bought one that I am enjoying, and also a journal and a pen with endless ink.

Anything else you’d like to add: I am coming up on my 25th anniversary and my 50th birthday.  My kids are growing up.  I will NOT be squeezing myself into my wedding dress or hiring an anniversary planner but I will celebrate my life with my partner when the time comes.

 

In next week’s edition of the blog we will be sharing the amazing promo video we just shot with extraordinary videographer Jordan Popowich – there will be clowns, bling and pie! In the meantime, get your tickets to see the whole cast on stage!

1 Comment

  1. […] incredible, talented cast and crew! Melanie, Alissa, Kevin and Colin, you brought the play to life. Hope and Angie, without your expert direction, who […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

