Handfuls of Highlights: FemFest 2013 Wrap-Up!

We are overwhelmed with the number of responses we have received over the past week from those who were involved in this year’s festival! Today’s post pays tribute to a wonderful run of FemFest 2013: Revelation and Revolution with a series of testimonials from various people who were involved with the festival and a short highlight video. Lastly, don’t forget that we are currently accepting submissions for FemFest 2014: She’s Got the Power! The deadline to submit is Thursday, October 31st. For complete details and information on how to submit, view our call for submissions page on our website.

fem2013_haroldvivian_IMG_0107 (3) (1024x683)“Working on Harold and Vivian for Femfest this year has been such a delight and incredibly fun opportunity. I’m super pleased it was a hit! My cast was so perfect, I couldn’t ask for more, I’d do it all over in a pinch.”

– Brenda McLean, Director

“I owe Sarasvàti a good deal, not just as a female artist but also as a young emerging playwright. This season saw the first production of a script that I had written solo. To be able to see my work professionally produced was a wonderful experience for me, and one that I would probably not have gotten for a long time without Hope McIntyre and Sarasvàti.” 

Jessy Ardern, Playwright

fem2013_floodcontrol_IMG_0389 (3) (1024x711)“It was a great pleasure to have Flood Control premiere at FemFest 2013. This was my first time working with Sarasvàti Productions and my first time having a show produced in Winnipeg, and I was thrilled with the results. I was also very impressed with the festival as a whole, and with the professionalism, dedication, and passion of everyone involved.” –Marilyn Anne Campbell, Playwright

“FemFest is a unique and important force for female playwrights. I have really appreciated the opportunity to have my work read in this festival.” –Talia Pura, Playwright

“Femfest is a growing world class festival happening in Winnipeg. I am excited for next year’s festival already.” -Beatrice Watson, Audience Member

“The master class with Djanet was outstanding. Djanet’s lovely: generous, funny, talented, and intelligent. It was a treat to meet and work with her. I got a huge amount out of the experience; a play that I had despaired of came to life in the class in a thrilling way. I’m looking forward to diving back into it soon.”  –Sally Stubbs, Playwright

 “Thanks to Sarasvàti for always putting on such kickass, fresh, innovative works. I’ll be volunteering a LOT more in the future, and I’ve learned that I NEED to make the time to get out there and see the work of little-known, new(er) female artists if I want to tap in to performances that aren’t just ‘same-old, same-old.’”  Karen Gembey, Volunteer

fem2013_pomme_IMG_9373 (3) (1024x683)“pomme is french for apple was a hilarious and thought provoking piece of theatre performed by two wonderfully talented and versatile Canadian women. I am so glad I was able to see it during its short run.” -Tatiana Carnevale, Audience Member

“Much of FemFest — most notably its high calibre touring and in-house productions — not only feeds me as a writer/producer/performer in my own right, but they feed me as a woman–in my daily roles of wife, mother, daughter, sister, and friend. This year, FemFest did not disappoint.” -Kim Zeglinski, Audience Member

“FemFest was a terrific opportunity for me to break out of my comfort zone and grow as an artist by performing for a completely new audience not filled with familiar Montreal faces; a Winnipeg audience diverse in age and culture that I would not have otherwise reached.” – Christine Rodriguez, Dreaming in Autism

“I applaud Sarasvàti for bringing attention to this very important area, and efforts to raise awareness.”    – Robert Humniski on Giving Voice

“It was great to be a part of a group of motivated women from different walks of life brought together.” – Samantha Halas, Cabaret Performer

Don’t forget to check out our FemFest 2013 Highlights Video!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

