Bake-Off Ingredients Reveal!

Over the long weekend, our Bake-Off ingredients were finally revealed to our participants! And they are… drum roll please… Dill pickles, zombies, and maniacal laughter! The playwrights then had only eight hours to whip up a scene incorporating these elements. A reading of each piece will be presented at FemFest on Monday, September 16th at 7 p.m. in front of an audience who will select the winner. The prize is the opportunity to develop their Bake-Off script into a full production for next year’s FemFest!

One of our playwrights, Megan Andres, decided to document her Bake-Off experience with a photo journal. Take a look at how her day went:

1st Entry: FemFest Bake Off Day!!! SO excited. Thought I’d use some photos to guide you through my day.

2nd Entry

2nd Entry

This is me before going to the meeting to get the ingredients for the FemFest Bake-off Playwriting Challenge. I have a tendency to compulsively check if things work pre important things. But as you can see my computer is working and is waiting impatiently for me to get back and start writing.

3rd Entry

3rd Entry

This is me at the meeting. See how outwardly calm I look…

4th Entry

4th Entry

This is in fact the outer representation of how I internally felt the moment they introduced the ingredients (zombies, dill pickles & maniacal laughter)

5th Entry

5th Entry

This is at 11:37 am. 1 hour and thirty seven minutes into the competition with nada…However I have found some very interesting facts about pickles, about zombies….and about maniacal laughing via google. None of which really seemed to trigger any inspiration.

6th Entry

6th Entry

This is my face at 12:14pm. Heart pounding. What to do…what to do…Then I went to go buy some pickles…

7th Entry

7th Entry

These are some gooood pickles. While eating pickles I just starting writing anything and everything I could think of. I think I have about 12 half pages of starter scenes…then I just picked the one I felt like finishing.

8th Entry

8th Entry

5:23 pm. Just finished the scene. Phew… Now just last minute editing and to think of a title. Deadline 6pm. (Note…I hit send on the email at exactly 5:54pm). I feel like cheering.

9th Entry

9th Entry

While I may have felt like cheering…this is actually what I did.

10th and Final Entry

10th and Final Entry

Until I finally dragged myself up and finished my day with a well deserved beverage. Now I just have to wait until September 16 to see my scene and the other lovely playwrights work. I am SO excited. Not only to see the actors perform my scene and hear the audience reaction but to see what the other playwrights cooked up!!!

Thanks for sharing, Megan! We can’t wait to see what you and the other playwrights have baked for us!

1 Comment

  1. […] FemFest. You can read some of the past blog entries from participants here and get a sense of the fun mixed with a smidge of stress that comes from writing on a tight […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

